Jump to content


iPad Pro 12.9" 3rd Gen problems?


  • Please log in to reply
70 replies to this topic

frostycan #1 Posted 21 February 2019 - 07:57 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 23015 battles
  • 71
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014

Yesterday I just switched from a iPad Pro 12.9" 1st Gen to a 12.9" 3rd Gen.  I don't know if it's the new iPad or the update to WOTB but the game is unplayable.  Unfortunately my old iPad met an untimely end so I can't try the update on it.

A couple of things:

1) The joystick control now seems to have very specific sweet spots of activation.  If I move my thumb lightly outside of those spots the tank stops moving.  It never used to be that way.

 

2)  If I try to aim while I'm moving, the tank stops moving.  That's a show-stopper.

 

Is anyone else seeing this?



40_Percenter #2 Posted 21 February 2019 - 10:09 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Players
  • 50426 battles
  • 773
  • [ASTR0]
  • Member since:
    12-30-2016
It’s part of the Bolshevik conspiracy. The proletariat have sabotaged our bourgeoisie fancy new ipads so they don’t work.  I’m in the same boat you are.  The game is unplayable. 
Nobody likes 40 Percenters.  

frostycan #3 Posted 21 February 2019 - 10:29 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 23015 battles
  • 71
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014

(Okay, I laughed.  A lot.)

 

FOR THE LOVE OF GAWD, WARGAMING, FIX THIS OR YOU WILL HAVE AN INTERNATIONAL 1%ER UPRISING TO ACCOUNT FOR!



_GraceToo #4 Posted 22 February 2019 - 03:03 AM

    She Said I'm Tragically Hip

  • Players
  • 53488 battles
  • 1,712
  • [BRSKT]
  • Member since:
    10-12-2014

View Postfrostycan, on 21 February 2019 - 02:29 PM, said:

(Okay, I laughed.  A lot.)

 

FOR THE LOVE OF GAWD, WARGAMING, FIX THIS OR YOU WILL HAVE AN INTERNATIONAL 1%ER UPRISING TO ACCOUNT FOR!

 

I have the smaller iPad pro 3rd gen.  I don't have any problems.  In fact this release was an improvement - prior, the whole screen wasn't used, now it is.

I did notice that some of the settings (e.g. autoaim) were reset from what I had customized them to, so perhaps resetting everything and going back and re-setting up your preferences ... ?

frostycan #5 Posted 22 February 2019 - 03:16 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 23015 battles
  • 71
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014

View Post_dookie, on 21 February 2019 - 08:03 PM, said:

 

I have the smaller iPad pro 3rd gen.  I don't have any problems.  In fact this release was an improvement - prior, the whole screen wasn't used, now it is.

I did notice that some of the settings (e.g. autoaim) were reset from what I had customized them to, so perhaps resetting everything and going back and re-setting up your preferences ... ?

 

You're lucky then.  It's unplayable for me.  

I did try resetting the control preferences to start over.  That made no difference, unfortunately.

 

Does Wargaming support look at these threads?



frostycan #6 Posted 22 February 2019 - 10:59 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 23015 battles
  • 71
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014
Is no one else having these problems??

I opened a support ticket with Wargaming but I haven't received a reply.

frostycan #7 Posted 22 February 2019 - 11:32 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 23015 battles
  • 71
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014

A few more points about this:

 

1) I've been playing WOTB since it was first released on iOS, on multiple iOS devices, including the 1st generation iPad Pro 12.9.  This isn't a case of not knowing the controls.

 

2) Based on other comments in the forum, I've reset the controls.  That didn't help.

 

3) I've deleted and reinstalled WOTB on this iPad Pro.  That didn't help.
 

Any other ideas?



frostycan #8 Posted 23 February 2019 - 06:41 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 23015 battles
  • 71
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014

A few more things to add:

4) I downloaded 
TouchTest and Touches from the AppStore to test multitouch on this iPad.  Everything works as expected.

 

5) I also tried this version of WOTB on my iPhone 8 Plus and my iPad Mini 3 and the controls work fine on those devices.

 

It's only with this iPad Pro 12.9 3rd gen (2018) that there's an issue.

 

Isn't anyone else playing with this version of the iPad that can chime in??



Spoiled_Moo_Juice #9 Posted 23 February 2019 - 08:32 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 32362 battles
  • 296
  • [STRYK]
  • Member since:
    11-08-2014
I have the iPad Pro 10.5 (2017) version, and I have noticed couple of times when I hit the fire button with my right thumb, it does not respond.  I had the press it about 3-4 times until it works.. this has never happened before the new updates. So something is not right on this update for iPad Pro devices...

frostycan #10 Posted 23 February 2019 - 08:35 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 23015 battles
  • 71
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014

View PostKVSH_Blitz, on 23 February 2019 - 01:32 PM, said:

I have the iPad Pro 10.5 (2017) version, and I have noticed couple of times when I hit the fire button with my right thumb, it does not respond.  I had the press it about 3-4 times until it works.. this has never happened before the new updates. So something is not right on this update for iPad Pro devices...

 

At least you can play this version.  With my iPad, I can't.  Since others aren't chiming in, I suspect it may be something specific to the 3rd gen 12.9".

I've reported all this to support in a ticket.



_GraceToo #11 Posted 24 February 2019 - 12:08 AM

    She Said I'm Tragically Hip

  • Players
  • 53488 battles
  • 1,712
  • [BRSKT]
  • Member since:
    10-12-2014

OK, I finally played a bunch last night - I'd only done a few battles between the update and last night.

It's definitely regressed.  I think there are a few things going on, at least for me.

 

1) When they "fixed" the app so that the whole screen was  used, the size of the pad control increased accordingly.

2) They limit where you can actually move it to.

3) There seems to be more sensitivity so that you are either stopped (0-50% of the pad control) or full speed (51%-100% of the control.

 

Net net, all the muscle memory I've developed is now messed up, and I can't really get the thing into a size and location that's comfortable.


So on tanks where finesse matters (Leo, lights, etc.) I'm also struggling.  

Not ideal.  I put an item in the 5.8 bug thread for Ribblewhatever to read


Edited by _dookie, 24 February 2019 - 12:12 AM.


frostycan #12 Posted 24 February 2019 - 12:38 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 23015 battles
  • 71
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014

View Post_dookie, on 23 February 2019 - 05:08 PM, said:

OK, I finally played a bunch last night - I'd only done a few battles between the update and last night.

It's definitely regressed.  I think there are a few things going on, at least for me.

 

1) When they "fixed" the app so that the whole screen was  used, the size of the pad control increased accordingly.

2) They limit where you can actually move it to.

3) There seems to be more sensitivity so that you are either stopped (0-50% of the pad control) or full speed (51%-100% of the control.

 

Net net, all the muscle memory I've developed is now messed up, and I can't really get the thing into a size and location that's comfortable.


So on tanks where finesse matters (Leo, lights, etc.) I'm also struggling.  

Not ideal.  I put an item in the 5.8 bug thread for Ribblewhatever to read

 

With my iPad it's not a matter of having to abandon muscle memory and relearn the controls -- that I could get used it.

It's sheer unplayable now.

_GraceToo #13 Posted 24 February 2019 - 01:30 AM

    She Said I'm Tragically Hip

  • Players
  • 53488 battles
  • 1,712
  • [BRSKT]
  • Member since:
    10-12-2014

View Postfrostycan, on 23 February 2019 - 04:38 PM, said:

 

With my iPad it's not a matter of having to abandon muscle memory and relearn the controls -- that I could get used it.

It's sheer unplayable now.

 

Well, there are half a dozen complaints in that bug thread.  Hopefully RibbleStripe is paying attention.

frostycan #14 Posted 24 February 2019 - 02:28 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 23015 battles
  • 71
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014

View Post_dookie, on 23 February 2019 - 06:30 PM, said:

 

Well, there are half a dozen complaints in that bug thread.  Hopefully RibbleStripe is paying attention.

 

Hopefully.  I'm getting twitchy from not being able to play WOTB on my tablet...

frostycan #15 Posted 20 March 2019 - 04:04 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 23015 battles
  • 71
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014
I haven't heard from support about this getting fixed.  Do they send updates on issues like these are is it a matter of sitting back and hoping that they fix things?

minitel_NA #16 Posted 20 March 2019 - 07:36 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Players
  • 454 battles
  • 5,895
  • [EUREF]
  • Member since:
    12-19-2015

View PostKVSH_Blitz, on 23 February 2019 - 08:32 PM, said:

I have the iPad Pro 10.5 (2017) version, and I have noticed couple of times when I hit the fire button with my right thumb, it does not respond.  I had the press it about 3-4 times until it works.. this has never happened before the new updates. So something is not right on this update for iPad Pro devices...

 

have the same experience. I was worried about my screen.

 

to OP :

does it happen only when charging ? I had issue with while charging. 

Also, bad internet connection can sometimes make you stop random when you are constantly pressing forward, or stop when u enter a new command. These are internet quality issues.

 

yiu could also write a ticket or write in the thread that is related to bugs and glitches report for this release. I’m too lazy to find the link now...


Edited by minitel_NA, 20 March 2019 - 07:37 PM.

Minitelrose visiting from EU, occasional player/forumer in the NA

 


frostycan #17 Posted 20 March 2019 - 08:04 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 23015 battles
  • 71
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014
100% of the time this doesn't work with my new 3rd gen iPad Pro 12.9".  It's not an internet connection problem.

100% of the time everything worked fine with my 1st gen iPad Pro 12.9".  Same internet connection.

I did already add a comment to forum bug thread and I opened a support ticket.

Just wanted to make sure that it's being addressed and wondering if there's any way to be assured that the problem will be fixed.

Edited by frostycan, 20 March 2019 - 08:51 PM.


acrisis #18 Posted 20 March 2019 - 08:19 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 20994 battles
  • 12,525
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014
Added a reply to the 5.8 bug reports thread, to ensure this thread gets checked for updated information. 

 

Forum essentials:  > Desktop mode 
Check recent threads. Check WG staff threads. Use search.
    > WG Bugs and current update     > Feedback     > Vehicle Bay     > Guides     > Videos 

 

     BE  (+)   

 [ NEW > ]  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified usingPingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii
Blitz University | Basic Training  |  Mentor  |  The Pingplotter Guy

 


frostycan #19 Posted 20 March 2019 - 08:50 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 23015 battles
  • 71
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014

View Postacrisis, on 20 March 2019 - 01:19 PM, said:

Added a reply to the 5.8 bug reports thread, to ensure this thread gets checked for updated information. 

 

Thank you.

ArSkee #20 Posted 24 March 2019 - 05:06 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 43984 battles
  • 14
  • [SPANK]
  • Member since:
    12-23-2014
Same issue, with the vehicle intermittently stopping - it generally occurs when moving and rotating the turret, but also when just moving.  Movement joystick is both very sensitive and inconsistent.  3rd generation iPad Pro 12.9”.




3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users