Jump to content


Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, ... demystified using PingPlotter. What is it, How to, FAQ, Q&A ...

lag packet loss pinplotter how to mystery ghost shells got lag chicago telia cogento

  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

___ImUrHuckleberry #61 Posted 13 August 2021 - 06:00 AM

    I need ammunition, not a ride.

  • Players
  • 17745 battles
  • 1,601
  • Member since:
    08-07-2016

Acrisis, hope you wouldn't mind confirming this with me? WG issue, not ISP as i had suspected?

 

8w9Pm89.jpeg

 

EDIT: couple of minutes later :amazed:

 

t2F7UBQ.jpeg


Edited by YouHaveAbeeOnUrHatch, 13 August 2021 - 06:06 AM.


acrisis #62 Posted 13 August 2021 - 12:23 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 22200 battles
  • 13,985
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

Saw your message here [ http://forum.wotblit...king-my-device/ ] before seeing this.
Already responded there. 


Points of observation here:


74% loss at the handover from Frontier to Level3. When that happens, it will not get any better.

Often times a small or large loss there, will show identical all the way up the line. ( so it would show for instance 10% loss on all points 5 6 7 8 9 all the way down, as an example )

 

I am not seeing the blank lines from Gcore Labs ( the hosting provider ) before it gets to the server ... so something is amiss there between 14 and 15, as I just pinged both login0 and login1 ... both ping fine ... and I am getting the blank lines on pingplotter desktop and mobile. 
 

 

But, let's try to troubleshoot your issue in that other thread [ http://forum.wotblit...king-my-device/

 


 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 


_Crusader6_ #63 Posted 13 August 2021 - 12:29 PM

    St. Javelin: NLAW we Trust

  • Players
  • 87777 battles
  • 20,322
  • [III]
  • Member since:
    12-08-2014

Note the .36 address is offline -- that is no longer the login1 address.

   That s why Huck is having issues


I hate Annihilator spammers...  
Tank Hoarder: 504 tanks in Garage:  517/519 Played Tanks Aced
 
376 extra garage slots too - lucky me. 
 
I need more tanks...
 
    Wallet Warrior: Loyal Original M60 owner
 

 


__V_O_P__ #64 Posted 22 August 2021 - 03:11 PM

    A Lapsed Pacifist

  • Players
  • 70108 battles
  • 3,186
  • [LAP]
  • Member since:
    09-06-2016
Okay.. here's a question... ping plotter is tracking 34 ping on average to Login0...(I'm logged into server 0) but in game the ping indicator is all over the place. Last game it was up to 400 and rubber banding. So... how does ping plotter and WG get such different results?

acrisis #65 Posted 22 August 2021 - 09:52 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 22200 battles
  • 13,985
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

Simultaneously? Same device? Same connection method? 
 

My ping on pingplotter and wotb usually track closely, like within 5-10 ms … with a slight edge for my wired network over wifi.


 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 


__V_O_P__ #66 Posted 22 August 2021 - 10:26 PM

    A Lapsed Pacifist

  • Players
  • 70108 battles
  • 3,186
  • [LAP]
  • Member since:
    09-06-2016

View Postacrisis, on 22 August 2021 - 04:52 PM, said:

Simultaneously? Same device? Same connection method? 
 

My ping on pingplotter and wotb usually track closely, like within 5-10 ms … with a slight edge for my wired network over wifi.


same device... same connection method. re simultaneous - well I saw the ping spikes in game (felt them as well) and checked ping plotter afterwards... nada.



_Dtankshooter #67 Posted 30 November 2021 - 07:17 AM

    Dtankshooter the ATGM spammer

  • Players
  • 20084 battles
  • 81
  • [CEASE]
  • Member since:
    06-15-2018
FPS been real bad since new update smth
WoTB Forever..............
R.I.P ATGMs

acrisis #68 Posted 01 December 2021 - 06:02 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 22200 battles
  • 13,985
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

View Post__V_O_P__, on 22 August 2021 - 05:26 PM, said:


same device... same connection method. re simultaneous - well I saw the ping spikes in game (felt them as well) and checked ping plotter afterwards... nada.



Interesting. When I am having issues, I run it on computer while playing on tablet. 


 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 


acrisis #69 Posted 01 December 2021 - 06:03 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 22200 battles
  • 13,985
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

View Post_Dtankshooter, on 30 November 2021 - 02:17 AM, said:

FPS been real bad since new update smth


Graphics load keeps increasing with more and more visual features. 

Try turning down your graphics settings a bit. Several of the settings are not that important and can be put on medium or low. Or turned off.  


 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 


_Crusader6_ #70 Posted 02 December 2021 - 09:55 PM

    St. Javelin: NLAW we Trust

  • Players
  • 87777 battles
  • 20,322
  • [III]
  • Member since:
    12-08-2014

View Post__V_O_P__, on 22 August 2021 - 05:26 PM, said:


same device... same connection method. re simultaneous - well I saw the ping spikes in game (felt them as well) and checked ping plotter afterwards... nada.


Sorry I wasn't tracking this thread routinely.

 

The In Game Ping indicator gives ping not just to your device - but to your screen - so any graphic issues (GPU throttling for instance) will be shown as ping spikes on screen -- this won't be shown in PingPlotter.

 

 After 7+ years of running Max settings - I bit the bullet and turned off camouflage for all but me - guess what - my ping issues disappeared.

     There seems to be an issue with the way WG has overwritten code for certain tanks and camouflage - so spotting created a huge graphic load and all of a sudden you spike and get clobbered.   Removing camo from the equation solves that (although legendary camo's are still seen those don't seem to have the same effects).

 

 


I hate Annihilator spammers...  
Tank Hoarder: 504 tanks in Garage:  517/519 Played Tanks Aced
 
376 extra garage slots too - lucky me. 
 
I need more tanks...
 
    Wallet Warrior: Loyal Original M60 owner
 

 


__V_O_P__ #71 Posted 10 January 2022 - 08:27 PM

    A Lapsed Pacifist

  • Players
  • 70108 battles
  • 3,186
  • [LAP]
  • Member since:
    09-06-2016

View Post_Crusader6_, on 02 December 2021 - 04:55 PM, said:


Sorry I wasn't tracking this thread routinely.

 

The In Game Ping indicator gives ping not just to your device - but to your screen - so any graphic issues (GPU throttling for instance) will be shown as ping spikes on screen -- this won't be shown in PingPlotter.

 

 After 7+ years of running Max settings - I bit the bullet and turned off camouflage for all but me - guess what - my ping issues disappeared.

     There seems to be an issue with the way WG has overwritten code for certain tanks and camouflage - so spotting created a huge graphic load and all of a sudden you spike and get clobbered.   Removing camo from the equation solves that (although legendary camo's are still seen those don't seem to have the same effects).

 

 


philips hue lights. that was it for me. I just moved and everything was all good to start. I plugged in the hues and my ping went out the window. I now live in a hue free zone. ping is good. 



acrisis #72 Posted 11 January 2022 - 02:01 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 22200 battles
  • 13,985
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

Thanks for sharing!

 

It is amazing how much interference a simple plug-in device can cause.

 

Microwaves are notoriously evil, had my first fill of that way back when wifi first came on the market and the various gadgets on the same band for Audio Video streaming/relay, little cameras, etc. Could use one at a time pretty much.

Even wireline. Getting some networking and/or smart home stuff to work over the electrical grid in your home. Fluorescent lights and their ballasts, appliances with motors, ...  

 

Speaking of light bulbs. Here's a fun one: plain old LED light bulbs.  Some of the early LED to replace some CFLs ( slow to warm up dingy light ) interfered on electricity and cable signal. That was a fun one to chase down ... I can't imagine how many hours and days I wasted, trying to sort it out ... until one time it accidentally was crystal clear. 100% signal fine. 6 canned lights on in the bathroom. Signal gone. 6 canned lights off. 100% signal fine. Unscrewed the LED bulbs and grabbed a more recent set. Solved.  But imagine putting some new led light bulbs in spring or summer throughout your house, to replace your CFL bulbs; you are not aware of any issue rightaway, then maybe a glitch here or there, but you barely use lights in the summer time, ... then months later, why would you suspect light bulbs instead of faulty gear, bad weather, bad antenna, bad aiming, ... 

 

I have not used any of those smart bulbs. They can be handy and plug and play, but again, it is a simple thing made " smart " that suddenly becomes something that sends and receives data ... and if it runs anywhere near the wifi bands to create its own little mesh network. 

Our stuff runs both wireline and 915 MHz MESH ... kind of akin the old cordless phone stuff. 

Anyway. Smart bulbs, certainly something to keep in mind. 


 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 


change_my_mind #73 Posted 15 January 2022 - 04:22 AM

    Private

  • Players
  • 58878 battles
  • 5
  • [4_AD]
  • Member since:
    04-29-2018

Lots of information. I just upgraded my router, and this lag happens.  Ghost shots, view changes at critical moments, tanks appearing and changing positions from one second to the next.

 

It sounds like it is easy to blame the player. This game is becoming trash. The implementation, player base, and on and on.



acrisis #74 Posted 16 January 2022 - 03:05 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 22200 battles
  • 13,985
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

View Postchange_my_mind, on 14 January 2022 - 11:22 PM, said:

Lots of information. I just upgraded my router, and this lag happens.  Ghost shots, view changes at critical moments, tanks appearing and changing positions from one second to the next.

 

It sounds like it is easy to blame the player. This game is becoming trash. The implementation, player base, and on and on.


So, you changed routers (or upgraded the firmware of an existing one) ... resulting in networking issues that include ping and/or packet loss when you play online games ... and so you draw the conclusion of WG blaming the player? 


Please tell me how WG is to blame for the networking issue in your own home? 
 


 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 


Padre_ShadowRider #75 Posted 20 January 2022 - 05:01 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Players
  • 55375 battles
  • 613
  • [GETIT]
  • Member since:
    04-02-2016

Somebody help me.    I have put in a ticket and they tell me it is my initial ISP,  BUT  the traceroute shows a complete drop out near chicago.   The game is unplayable for the past 3 days.    Can anyone interpret this to see if it is my ISP or something wonky in the Net: 

traceroute: Warning: login0.wotblitz.com has multiple addresses; using 92.223.57.35

traceroute to login0.wotblitz.com (92.223.57.35), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets

 1  192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1)  126.343 ms  18.818 ms  21.098 ms

 2  192.168.10.1 (192.168.10.1)  54.454 ms  41.944 ms  6.457 ms

 3  10.101.0.1 (10.101.0.1)  33.277 ms  114.372 ms  80.653 ms

 4  10.100.100.1 (10.100.100.1)  109.469 ms  305.369 ms  56.765 ms

 5  rrcs-***.sw.biz.rr.com (****)  54.028 ms  7.387 ms  68.418 ms

 6  ae15.wmbrtx0602h.chtrse.com (97.77.0.224)  73.732 ms  97.980 ms  32.808 ms

 7  agg41.ausxtxir02r.texas.rr.com (24.175.42.200)  52.787 ms  16.036 ms  32.695 ms

 8  agg22.hstqtxl301r.texas.rr.com (24.175.41.48)  54.769 ms  111.883 ms  41.303 ms

 9  ae-1-0.p0.atl90.tbone.rr.com (66.109.1.218)  77.008 ms

    66.109.9.88 (66.109.9.88)  238.778 ms

    bu-ether16.hstqtx0209w-bcr00.tbone.rr.com (66.109.6.108)  88.371 ms

10  107.14.19.49 (107.14.19.49)  84.311 ms *  49.348 ms

11  107.14.19.192 (107.14.19.192)  33.855 ms  169.047 ms  135.301 ms

12  107.14.19.197 (107.14.19.197)  95.640 ms  78.477 ms  85.094 ms

13  209-18-43-61.dfw10.tbone.rr.com (209.18.43.61)  390.363 ms *

    66.109.5.225 (66.109.5.225)  187.426 ms

14  eqix-ch1.gcore.lu (208.115.136.42)  45.585 ms  44.678 ms

    as199524.xe0-0-11.chix2.ch1.unitedix.net (206.41.110.77)  204.783 ms

15  * * *

16  * * *

17  * * *

18  * * *

19  * * *

20  * * *

21  * * *

22  * * *

23  * * *

24  * * *

25  * * *

26  * * *

27  * * *

28  * * *

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File   Ping.jpg   106.42K

Edited by Padre_ShadowRider, 20 January 2022 - 05:19 AM.


acrisis #76 Posted 21 January 2022 - 02:09 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 22200 battles
  • 13,985
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

Well, that's a rather messy signal situation that you have found yourself in. 

When you have such bad ping and packet loss all long the way, then the game server is certainly not to blame. 
The 100% loss lines have to be ignored, it is network equipment that cannot be pinged. There is no loss there. (discussed this with pingplotter folks) 

 

The primary thing to keep in mind is that at the top there's you and your device, home internet, isp, and then a route to the game server at the very bottom.

 

From the start (top), we can see that your connection is simply not stable. When you lose 5% of packets before the signal leaves the house and your average ping is already 100 ( between 6 and 400 ) and you lose packets so close; everything further out is always going to suffer. 

That's why there is just a consistent series of red lines (packet loss) all the way down, at each stop. 

The setup looks unusual with 4 counts before the actual router ... you need to start by sorting that out and drastically simplifying.


 


 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 


Hugzy_ #77 Posted 12 April 2022 - 03:14 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 376 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    05-30-2020

Acrisis,

Thanks for the info yet in my case totally irrelevant.  Am running off my company's 100G backbone and we keep it clean 24/7/365.   

 

Lag spikes are typically caused on the server side e.g. hard drive failing, system compromised, etc. etc. unless it is on the client side, which in this case it is not.

 

Great rant trying to sell a product.  -_-  



Hugzy_ #78 Posted 12 April 2022 - 03:17 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 376 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    05-30-2020

View Postacrisis, on 21 January 2022 - 02:09 PM, said:

Well, that's a rather messy signal situation that you have found yourself in. 

When you have such bad ping and packet loss all long the way, then the game server is certainly not to blame. 
The 100% loss lines have to be ignored, it is network equipment that cannot be pinged. There is no loss there. (discussed this with pingplotter folks) 

 

The primary thing to keep in mind is that at the top there's you and your device, home internet, isp, and then a route to the game server at the very bottom.

 

From the start (top), we can see that your connection is simply not stable. When you lose 5% of packets before the signal leaves the house and your average ping is already 100 ( between 6 and 400 ) and you lose packets so close; everything further out is always going to suffer. 

That's why there is just a consistent series of red lines (packet loss) all the way down, at each stop. 

The setup looks unusual with 4 counts before the actual router ... you need to start by sorting that out and drastically simplifying.


 

Obviously you are unaware of the realities of everyday life on the Internet.  Companies are being compromised daily by hackers and are being submitted to Malware infections, DDOS, etc.  Stating that it 'cannot be on the server side'  is very ignorant.  If you are a network engineer, please by all means contribute.  Do not come and state 'facts' which you received from a 3rd party.  Thank you!



j_rod #79 Posted 12 April 2022 - 08:24 PM

    Forum Moral Police

  • Players
  • 36059 battles
  • 5,146
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    05-04-2011

View PostHugzy_, on 12 April 2022 - 09:17 AM, said:

Obviously you are unaware of the realities of everyday life on the Internet.  Companies are being compromised daily by hackers and are being submitted to Malware infections, DDOS, etc.  Stating that it 'cannot be on the server side'  is very ignorant.  If you are a network engineer, please by all means contribute.  Do not come and state 'facts' which you received from a 3rd party.  Thank you!


If the issue was at a macro level on the server side then there would be a mass of complaints on here and on Discord. When the server has had issues (and it has), these complaints are addressed and the problem is fixed, although communication isn't always stellar. The rest of the time, the issue is either on the player side, somewhere in between, or is sometimes found to be latency within the game itself (bad programming after an update). 

 

Telling an IT guy and long time forumer that he is unaware of the realities of the internet when he's trying to help you is about as dumb as it gets. 


It was never fair... but it was fun! - Krietenstein34 
 

“There are no stupid questions, only stupid people.” - Mr Garrison (South Park)

 


acrisis #80 Posted 17 April 2022 - 04:21 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 22200 battles
  • 13,985
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

View PostHugzy_, on 12 April 2022 - 10:14 AM, said:

Acrisis,

Thanks for the info yet in my case totally irrelevant.  Am running off my company's 100G backbone and we keep it clean 24/7/365.   

 

Lag spikes are typically caused on the server side e.g. hard drive failing, system compromised, etc. etc. unless it is on the client side, which in this case it is not.

 

Great rant trying to sell a product.  -_-  

 

View PostHugzy_, on 12 April 2022 - 10:17 AM, said:

Obviously you are unaware of the realities of everyday life on the Internet.  Companies are being compromised daily by hackers and are being submitted to Malware infections, DDOS, etc.  Stating that it 'cannot be on the server side'  is very ignorant.  If you are a network engineer, please by all means contribute.  Do not come and state 'facts' which you received from a 3rd party.  Thank you!


I am far from unaware of the realities on the internet.
 

When there is 5% of packet loss within the user's own network ... then that simply is not a server issue. 

 

 

 


 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users