Jump to content


Start up Screen Blank and Long


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

ZTop01 #1 Posted 13 May 2020 - 12:43 PM

    Private

  • Players
  • 51411 battles
  • 2
  • [TYPHN]
  • Member since:
    12-08-2013
Is anyone else experiencing long start-up times and a blank screen? I use an iPad Air 2 and every time I start up the game, I have to wait for over a minute, looking at a dark blank screen, before the game actually starts. I submitted a ticket on this but was wondering if anyone one else is experiencing the same thing. 

Edited by ZTop01, 13 May 2020 - 12:43 PM.


acrisis #2 Posted 13 May 2020 - 12:59 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Players
  • 20703 battles
  • 11,968
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

Your system is probably starved for memory. 


Have you tried running it in what I call " single app mode " ? 

 

Force close all applications.
Force shut down the iPad.

Restart iPad.

Open the game. 

 

See if that speeds it up. 

It is how I got some extra play time out of my iPad 3 back in the day.

 

The iPad Air 2 shouldn't struggle loading the game, afaik, but it has been a while that I upgraded to an iPad 6 and donated the older one, so I can't test it. 


 

Forum essentials:  > Desktop mode 
Check recent threads. Check WG staff threads. Use search.
    > WG Bugs and current update     > Feedback     > Vehicle Bay     > Guides     > Videos 

 

     BE  (+)   

 [ NEW > ]  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified usingPingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii
Blitz University | Basic Training  |  Mentor  |  The Pingplotter Guy

 


Rou_Garou #3 Posted 13 May 2020 - 01:06 PM

    Carriers needed - apply inside

  • Players
  • 31911 battles
  • 785
  • [OP-4]
  • Member since:
    05-04-2013

I'm play on Windows 10 and steam at times on pc

They both have white screen for at least 3-4 min and then if I go into battle too quick, I will be couple seconds late.

Cleaning things up don't seem to help.


Don't rush inBe patientDon't brawl unnecessarilyKnow your tanks and enemy tanks;  Know your tanks' role;  

Knowing maps allows situation awareness; Mini-map is a mighty map;  Drive to cover;

Fight like you have no armor; Relocate and reset camo oftenBe the lover of cover;  

Hull down is OP; Stay on high ground; Don't go where you don't know

A I M 


Popcann #4 Posted 13 May 2020 - 02:46 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Players
  • 8418 battles
  • 238
  • Member since:
    07-30-2019
Same here, since update I look at a black screen for 30 sec or more

BlitzAssassin #5 Posted 13 May 2020 - 05:49 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Players
  • 20832 battles
  • 160
  • [-CFE-]
  • Member since:
    09-18-2015

View Postacrisis, on 13 May 2020 - 08:59 AM, said:

Your system is probably starved for memory. 


Have you tried running it in what I call " single app mode " ? 

 

Force close all applications.
Force shut down the iPad.

Restart iPad.

Open the game. 

 

See if that speeds it up. 

It is how I got some extra play time out of my iPad 3 back in the day.

 

The iPad Air 2 shouldn't struggle loading the game, afaik, but it has been a while that I upgraded to an iPad 6 and donated the older one, so I can't test it. 

Don’t think it’s the device. It’s generally taking longer for everyone to load it up, including me. Since the last update. Also the game logout each time, where you must select what you’ll connect to (Facebook, Game Center whatev it may be). 



dementian #6 Posted 13 May 2020 - 06:45 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Players
  • 44146 battles
  • 202
  • [SPUDX]
  • Member since:
    07-02-2014
I’ve been experiencing this for a few weeks.  I assumed it was my older device but seeing that other people are having the same issue gives me hope.

shyw #7 Posted 13 May 2020 - 10:50 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Players
  • 50237 battles
  • 877
  • [DOGZ]
  • Member since:
    09-01-2014

Same here since the update....!!!

 

I’m using less then 18% of my available memory on my iPad Pro, 7th Gen, 128GB


Edited by shyw, 13 May 2020 - 10:53 PM.


telegramsam_gunner #8 Posted 22 May 2020 - 04:13 PM

    Private

  • Players
  • 142 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    08-05-2016

Yes, this problem has only gotten worse.  The program will often not open at all on the ipad, until several attempts have been made.  Each time there will be a long black screen, and sometimes it will lead to the game opening and sometimes it will lead to the game disappearing.

 

(Editing to add:)

 

I wonder if the game requires a certain amount of free disk space to run.  Deleted some in Settings: Storage, and the game started up.  If that's the issue then Wargaming and or Apple should be throwing some sort of "out of memory" error that would optimally be given to the user in an easy to understand format rather than just going blank and disappearing.


Edited by telegramsam_gunner, 22 May 2020 - 04:40 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users