Jump to content


15MB data usage per hour


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

ChunkySquirrel #1 Posted 16 July 2014 - 12:45 PM

    The Witcher

  • Players
  • 15366 battles
  • 2,274
  • [KHRT]
  • Member since:
    01-28-2012

In a recent post this is a quote from a developer 

 

- the traffic required is cca 15 MB per hour, the speed of the connection is not important, the quality of it is.

 

(so this mean u can pretty much play blitz for an hour and only use 15mb of data right? If this is correct this is amazing and great for people with limited data and this is a great rate...correct me if I am wrong

 

sorry I don't know much about data usage as I have always had unlimited internet and data.


       

                                           

Wenn vor uns ein feindlicher Panzer erscheint,
Wird Vollgas gegeben und ran an den Feind.
Was gilt denn unser Leben für uns'res Reiches Heer? Ja, Reiches Heer.

Für Deutschland zu sterben ist uns're höchste Ehr'.

                                                               


Toharo #2 Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:19 PM

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    06-06-2012
I'm not sure too, but yesterday I manage to use 105mb of my data in 2hours

HereFishyFishy #3 Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:35 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Players
  • 11605 battles
  • 2,365
  • [BRSKT]
  • Member since:
    06-30-2014
15mb of data seems really low for a game like this.  Im interested to know more real world numbers like Toharo

BlueRaiderVol #4 Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:42 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Players
  • 6735 battles
  • 172
  • Member since:
    06-28-2014
The quality of the connection is the most important part of any online game. It makes no difference what your download/upload speeds are past about 1Mbps. Although most really high speed data packages (Cable & Fiber) also tend to have really good ping so the two do go hand and hand, generally speaking. Cellular networks tend to be really inconsistent comparatively. You can get great download/upload speeds with terrible ping. I've played over both AT&T (Grandfathered Unlimited Plan) and Verizon's 4G LTE networks with no problem. This in and of itself is impressive. I'm also willing to bet the game would also be playable on AT&T's 3.5G HSPA+ network. Sprint and Verizon's 3G networks would probably be a stretch. 

OGFiery #5 Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:42 PM

    Stop Tunneling Me

  • Players
  • 36720 battles
  • 5,214
  • Member since:
    05-02-2011

I only play Blitz with LTE. I have used 1.3GB in two and a half weeks of playing multiple hours every day. I have done the same for PC World of Tanks.

 

The game takes almost no data to play on either platform.


Edited by concep, 16 July 2014 - 02:43 PM.

Tier Xs (in order of unlocking): T110E5, M48 Patton, T-62A, IS-7, E50M, IS-4, FV4202, T110E3, FV215b, Obj. 268, T110E4, Leopard 1, Obj. 140, STB-1, Obj. 263, T57 Heavy, AMX 50B, Bat Chat 25t

                                                                                         Most played tank: T-62A (3,100 battles)

Favorite Quotes                       #BACKFROMTHEGRAVE                                   YouTube Channel!


Naturemagic #6 Posted 16 July 2014 - 03:10 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Players
  • 3320 battles
  • 848
  • Member since:
    06-26-2014

View Postconcep, on 16 July 2014 - 09:42 AM, said:

I only play Blitz with LTE. I have used 1.3GB in two and a half weeks of playing multiple hours every day. I have done the same for PC World of Tanks.

 

The game takes almost no data to play on either platform.

What u mean 100-200 battles a day lol



OGFiery #7 Posted 16 July 2014 - 03:36 PM

    Stop Tunneling Me

  • Players
  • 36720 battles
  • 5,214
  • Member since:
    05-02-2011

View PostNaturemagic, on 16 July 2014 - 11:10 AM, said:

What u mean 100-200 battles a day lol

 

Yes, and the average battle is 2-3 minutes. Which means it's very easy to play that many in one day.

 

 

 

 

 

 


Tier Xs (in order of unlocking): T110E5, M48 Patton, T-62A, IS-7, E50M, IS-4, FV4202, T110E3, FV215b, Obj. 268, T110E4, Leopard 1, Obj. 140, STB-1, Obj. 263, T57 Heavy, AMX 50B, Bat Chat 25t

                                                                                         Most played tank: T-62A (3,100 battles)

Favorite Quotes                       #BACKFROMTHEGRAVE                                   YouTube Channel!


ChunkySquirrel #8 Posted 16 July 2014 - 03:39 PM

    The Witcher

  • Players
  • 15366 battles
  • 2,274
  • [KHRT]
  • Member since:
    01-28-2012

View Postconcep, on 16 July 2014 - 10:42 AM, said:

I only play Blitz with LTE. I have used 1.3GB in two and a half weeks of playing multiple hours every day. I have done the same for PC World of Tanks.

 

The game takes almost no data to play on either platform.

I have AT&T 4G LTE and I played a bit with my data and I get 60 ping and I have unlimited I just was wondering how much I would use in an hour of constant play 


       

                                           

Wenn vor uns ein feindlicher Panzer erscheint,
Wird Vollgas gegeben und ran an den Feind.
Was gilt denn unser Leben für uns'res Reiches Heer? Ja, Reiches Heer.

Für Deutschland zu sterben ist uns're höchste Ehr'.

                                                               


Wake_Island #9 Posted 16 July 2014 - 04:21 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Players
  • 851 battles
  • 100
  • Member since:
    04-21-2011
I have Sprint so I have unlimited data.
#TeamGroucho

wtfovr #10 Posted 16 July 2014 - 08:57 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 1110 battles
  • 19
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014

View PostOnemeaus, on 16 July 2014 - 03:35 PM, said:

15mb of data seems really low for a game like this.  Im interested to know more real world numbers like Toharo

 

on your cellular iPad/iPhone go to settings > cellular (or cellular data) - scroll down to the list of apps under "USE CELLULAR DATA FOR" and see how much data the World of Tanks app is using.    



ChunkySquirrel #11 Posted 16 July 2014 - 10:25 PM

    The Witcher

  • Players
  • 15366 battles
  • 2,274
  • [KHRT]
  • Member since:
    01-28-2012

View Postwtfovr, on 16 July 2014 - 04:57 PM, said:

 

on your cellular iPad/iPhone go to settings > cellular (or cellular data) - scroll down to the list of apps under "USE CELLULAR DATA FOR" and see how much data the World of Tanks app is using.    

Thanks man it says 447 KB so is that how much data I will use for a full hour of play time?


       

                                           

Wenn vor uns ein feindlicher Panzer erscheint,
Wird Vollgas gegeben und ran an den Feind.
Was gilt denn unser Leben für uns'res Reiches Heer? Ja, Reiches Heer.

Für Deutschland zu sterben ist uns're höchste Ehr'.

                                                               


wtfovr #12 Posted 16 July 2014 - 11:23 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 1110 battles
  • 19
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014

View Post_ErwinRommel__, on 16 July 2014 - 11:25 PM, said:

Thanks man it says 447 KB so is that how much data I will use for a full hour of play time?

It's how much has been used since you reset the stats.   

You could reset the stats. Then play for an hour or play a battle and then see how much has been used.   

 

Eg eh how much per battle vs how much per hour



m00gekko #13 Posted 12 November 2015 - 06:02 PM

    Private

  • Players
  • 9902 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    08-31-2014
Not sure if still relevant, but i tried to play on TELCEL's 3g network (mexican carrier) and i was getting 100~130 ping and about 1.60mb consumed per match.

HPFiSH #14 Posted 12 November 2015 - 08:11 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Players
  • 176 battles
  • 1,038
  • [501AU]
  • Member since:
    10-25-2014

Yes, this is true. I was very surprised myself, I've used very little data and played quite a while.

 

Also, on a similar note, I actually prefer to play with data, as for some reason I get little rubber bands every 2-3 secs on my WiFi, with big Rubberbands when the enemies appear, and then poof! Lag is gone once I'm dead. Comcast sux and is a ripoff


Edited by HPFiSH, 12 November 2015 - 08:15 PM.

{Niche Scrub, General nub} Ignore my forum clan/battle count

STATS!!! --->http://wotbstars.com/index.php?usr=HP_FiSH&geo=NA&lng=eng<---  

Top 100: Caernarvon, Panther I, Jagdpanzer IV, T-34/85, VK 28.01 (Top 20), VK 30.01 (D), VK 30.02 (M), T2 Light, Spahpanzer SP IC

^^^ I try to art ^^^


CptCheez #15 Posted 12 November 2015 - 08:35 PM

    This Space Intentionally Left Blank

  • Players
  • 15398 battles
  • 6,798
  • Member since:
    07-08-2014

View Postm00gekko, on 12 November 2015 - 02:02 PM, said:

Not sure if still relevant, but i tried to play on TELCEL's 3g network (mexican carrier) and i was getting 100~130 ping and about 1.60mb consumed per match.

 

That would make sense, since 10 battles per hour is probably a good average, and that would be 15-16MB.  That's right in line with the OP's post.


Edited by CptCheez, 12 November 2015 - 08:35 PM.

"When the going gets tough and the stomach acids flow, 
The cold wind of conformity is nipping at your nose.
When some trendy new atrocity has brought you to your knees
Come with us we'll sail the Seas of Cheese."


Roving_Sasquatch #16 Posted 12 November 2015 - 11:01 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Players
  • 8359 battles
  • 813
  • Member since:
    11-29-2011
I only play on LTE i have very limited data i can use so i have kept track of it but on average i use about 20-25mb per hour give or take a little, over the RoC event i played 1800 battles in a month and used 3.5gb of data total, lot of chating and such though

My Tier 10s: IS-4, Je100, E100, T62A, Object 140, M48 fatton, FV4202, IS7, Object 268

Working on: FV215B, Maus, E50, FV215B (183)

My Babys: T-43, Type 59, IS-4, JE100, KV-2DERP


ChunkySquirrel #17 Posted 13 November 2015 - 12:57 AM

    The Witcher

  • Players
  • 15366 battles
  • 2,274
  • [KHRT]
  • Member since:
    01-28-2012

View PostCptCheez, on 12 November 2015 - 03:35 PM, said:

 

That would make sense, since 10 battles per hour is probably a good average, and that would be 15-16MB.  That's right in line with the OP's post.

 

people are still posting on this lol

       

                                           

Wenn vor uns ein feindlicher Panzer erscheint,
Wird Vollgas gegeben und ran an den Feind.
Was gilt denn unser Leben für uns'res Reiches Heer? Ja, Reiches Heer.

Für Deutschland zu sterben ist uns're höchste Ehr'.

                                                               


HappyMan007 #18 Posted 29 November 2016 - 07:32 AM

    Private

  • Players
  • 29 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    06-25-2015
Did the graphic quality affect to data usage?

Senator_Ratbat #19 Posted 29 November 2016 - 07:58 AM

    Producer

  • Administrator
  • 5865 battles
  • 1,395
  • [WGA]
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014

View PostHappyMan007, on 28 November 2016 - 11:32 PM, said:

Did the graphic quality affect to data usage?

 

Nope. This is a local/client setting. This won't affect data usage but it may impact the quality of your game if you are on an older device for example.

LtRaseiniai #20 Posted 29 November 2016 - 12:17 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Players
  • 76452 battles
  • 4,420
  • [EWENS]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014

View Postconcep, on 16 July 2014 - 02:42 PM, said:

I only play Blitz with LTE. I have used 1.3GB in two and a half weeks of playing multiple hours every day. I have done the same for PC World of Tanks.

 

The game takes almost no data to play on either platform.

 

I have a 3gb monthly plan on my ipad and I've never come close in all these years to using all my data.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users