Jump to content


15MB data usage per hour


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

_WMX_ #21 Posted 29 November 2016 - 07:14 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 57395 battles
  • 318
  • [DD]
  • Member since:
    12-13-2014

View Postconcep, on 16 July 2014 - 06:42 AM, said:

I only play Blitz with LTE. I have used 1.3GB in two and a half weeks of playing multiple hours every day. I have done the same for PC World of Tanks.

 

The game takes almost no data to play on either platform.

 

especially with hax... sorry couldn't resist the pramo cheat conspiracy.  In all seriousness the game shouldn't be pulling a ton of data like some of you are experiencing unless your carrier is penalizing you in some way.  230kb over an 8 hour run a few days ago.  ;)

Edited by _WMX_, 29 November 2016 - 07:18 PM.

_WMX_

Clan of DD Teufel Hunden

Enforcer

 


Hailsturm #22 Posted 26 July 2017 - 04:11 AM

    Private

  • Players
  • 11371 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    01-01-2015

View Post_ErwinRommel__, on 16 July 2014 - 12:45 PM, said:

In a recent post this is a quote from a developer 

 

- the traffic required is cca 15 MB per hour, the speed of the connection is not important, the quality of it is.

 

(so this mean u can pretty much play blitz for an hour and only use 15mb of data right? If this is correct this is amazing and great for people with limited data and this is a great rate...correct me if I am wrong

 

sorry I don't know much about data usage as I have always had unlimited internet and data.

I played Blitz for two hours today only to see a 600MB spike in my data plan. Sorry about reviving a dead thread, but I want to warn others.



BakalovBoy #23 Posted 26 July 2017 - 11:25 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Players
  • 29371 battles
  • 1,090
  • [_N_]
  • Member since:
    06-08-2016

View Postwtfovr, on 16 July 2014 - 08:57 PM, said:

 

on your cellular iPad/iPhone go to settings > cellular (or cellular data) - scroll down to the list of apps under "USE CELLULAR DATA FOR" and see how much data the World of Tanks app is using.    

 

Currently at 22 gigs for Blitz but I have no clue on when it started recording that. 

 

 

Also says under "current period" that i have used 151 gigs so maybe like a month or so ?



acrisis #24 Posted 26 July 2017 - 11:42 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 21880 battles
  • 13,728
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

That counter does not reset monthly or even periodically. 

 

Mine says " 24 GB current period " except I know I typically use 1-2 GB / month and have a 5 GB/ mo data plan allowance. My data use is not Blitz related, I only play on WiFi on my iPad. 


 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 


_Crusader6_ #25 Posted 26 July 2017 - 02:53 PM

    Please don’t go to town.

  • Players
  • 78798 battles
  • 18,761
  • [III]
  • Member since:
    12-08-2014

When I used to use LTE primarily for Blitz even playing 1k battles a month I was always under 5gb/month.   

  Data usage of Blitz is not onerous at all

 

 

 


I hate Annihilator spammers...  
Tank Hoarder: 469 tanks in Garage:  482/486 Played Tanks Aced
 
 
I need more tanks...
 
    Wallet Warrior: Loyal Original M60 owner
 

 


acrisis #26 Posted 26 July 2017 - 03:17 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 21880 battles
  • 13,728
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

... and one may not be able to rely on the iOS counters. 

 

Went on LTE on my phone, ran two TR sessions, no change in the WOTB counter (which for unonown reasons says 106 MB), ran a couple more TR ... no change. So either it was negligable (of course one tank causes less data tan fourteen) or my counter doesn't work. 

 

Guess I could try it with the provider's data tracker ... but even that one is not live updating. 


 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 


Tomio_Hara #27 Posted 26 July 2017 - 03:19 PM

    Monteagle madness

  • Players
  • 23165 battles
  • 3,470
  • [SNEED]
  • Member since:
    07-31-2014

View PostHoly_Sentinel, on 25 July 2017 - 10:11 PM, said:

I played Blitz for two hours today only to see a 600MB spike in my data plan. Sorry about reviving a dead thread, but I want to warn others.

 

mother of necroposting, this is a 3 year old thread!

 

Tomio Hara was the chief of Japanese tank development during the pre war period and WWII

Want to cap base? Read this!


acrisis #28 Posted 26 July 2017 - 03:23 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 21880 battles
  • 13,728
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

But, he searched and found the most relevant topic!

 

If only more people did ... we would not have 12-1200 threads on the same thing. 


 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 


acrisis #29 Posted 26 July 2017 - 03:27 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 21880 battles
  • 13,728
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014
Note ... at the very very very very bottom of the iOS page for cellular statistics is the reset button. Mine were from 2015 ... possibly when I got the phone. 

 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 


acrisis #30 Posted 26 July 2017 - 03:44 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 21880 battles
  • 13,728
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

Okay. With all statistic settings reset 

 

Loaded in

Played one battle

2.7 MB

 

Loaded back in to check stats, and battle duration of 5:45

3.3 MB used


 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 


WriterDude #31 Posted 26 July 2017 - 04:32 PM

    My Posts Are Forum Prammo

  • Players
  • 26121 battles
  • 4,373
  • Member since:
    10-09-2014

View Postacrisis, on 26 July 2017 - 08:44 AM, said:

Okay. With all statistic settings reset 

 

Loaded in

Played one battle

2.7 MB

 

Loaded back in to check stats, and battle duration of 5:45

3.3 MB used

 

Sorry, just clarifying. Does that mean that the stats check and 5:45 of battle time was about 600k of data? 

 

In that case, if the OP played a few hours of battles (call it 25 battles), I'd expect ~15MB of data in 2 hours, not 600MB. Do we have any way to track data usage on WiFi?


Worthy of focus fire by SPUDX.  Potato Cred Link

  

"In Blitz, there's a certain value in expeditiously moving to the inevitable." -WriterDude


acrisis #32 Posted 26 July 2017 - 05:59 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 21880 battles
  • 13,728
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

Clarification.

Reset to zero.

Opened game ... loading, syncing, etc

Hit battle, played till battle ended (survived the battle)

 

Switched apps to settings.

WOTB read to have used 2.7 MB.   

 

But I didn't check battle duration, or battle stats, ... 

Re-opened the game.

 

Tabbed to results, ... noted battle was 5:45 long. 

 

Switched back to settings it said 3.3 MB used, without doing an extra battle.  So, there may be half a MB or so that comes in just loading into the game, where the game pulls tank and personal account plus stats details off the server. 

 

So, if there is initial data then maybe a battle is 2.4 MB / ~ 6 minutes ... so ~ 0.4 - 0.5 MB / minute? 

 

But, with that RESET button, it is easy for anyone to check data usage. Anyone who plays on the cell network can just reset the #s, play for an hour and see what it used up. 

 

Wifi can be checked with some tools, but iOS is closed rather closed off. AFAIR, it is xx KB/s. 

 

 


Edited by acrisis, 26 July 2017 - 06:04 PM.

 

            BE     (+)   
>> Desktop mode  =>  + Recent topics   + Staff Posts 
    > WG Bugs & current update   > Feedback  
 > Videos   > Vehicle Bay   > Guides    
 

 > PingPlotter >  Lag, Packet Loss, Ghost Shells, Networking and more demystified using PingPlotter (free)  
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training | Mentor | Pingplotter Guy
 





4 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users