Noob's guide to grinding.

Noob newbie grind grinding

• Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

siouxinpa #1 Posted 26 July 2014 - 10:55 PM

Sergeant

• Players
  • 3096 battles

BLUF (Bottom Line Up Front) I started playing WoTB on July 3rd having never before played a World of game before. This makes me emminently qualified to write a noob guide.

What is grinding? Grinding refers to playing a game solely to accumulate in game resources to advance to better digital things as quickly as possible. In some games, trying to 'win' a battle is counter productive to the accumulation of resources. This is not true in WoTB! If you win you always get more experience and often more credits as well. Always try to win the battle for your team.

There are two resources to accumulate in WoTB, experience and credits. These are earned together but I find it easier to focus on them separately. I know some will say that gold is a resource as well, but honestly it is not. In game resources have to be able to be earned in game, which can't be done with gold. 

Don't worry about grinding until you get to the tier where you are having a difficult time making both resources consistently with your current tank. For me this was my tier 7 T29. I'm sure some never encounter this problem and others get to it earlier or later than I did.

How I grind resources.

Step 1: Get one tank to elite status (researched all modules and the next vehicle).  This now became my credit tank. All experience I gained on this tank from this point forward is useless to me unless I spent gold to convert it to free experience which can be used on any tank.

I found it easiest to use the tank that preceded my problem tank in the tech tree, in this case the M6. I did this for a couple reasons. I knew how to play this beast, something I was just figuring out with my T29. Also with the M6 I occasionally got into Tier 4-6 match ups which was great for doing massive amounts of dmg, which meant lots of credits.