Jump to content


Here's how to get the game to work on an iPad Pro


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

dont_try_this_at_home #1 Posted 13 November 2015 - 12:55 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 29351 battles
  • 317
  • Member since:
    06-30-2014

The game doesn't load on the iPad Pro screen without some adjustments. Until WG makes a native patch available, here's how to get it work:

 

Go to Settings

Go to Display and Brightness

Change view from Standard to Zoomed. 

 

You need to change it back after playing, if you want to take advantage of the new Pro apps from Apple, but it works for now. 

 

The Pro runs the game extremely well and the large screen rocks. 


Edited by mastrap, 13 November 2015 - 12:56 PM.


tlouie #2 Posted 13 November 2015 - 02:16 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Players
  • 9642 battles
  • 5,665
  • [TAT]
  • Member since:
    04-07-2015
I run Android, but this is so useful,  have a +1 from me.  Thanks for sharing.

sheriffsherman #3 Posted 13 November 2015 - 02:38 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Players
  • 24534 battles
  • 4,674
  • Member since:
    10-06-2014

View Postmastrap, on 13 November 2015 - 04:55 AM, said:

The game doesn't load on the iPad Pro screen without some adjustments. Until WG makes a native patch available, here's how to get it work:

 

Go to Settings

Go to Display and Brightness

Change view from Standard to Zoomed. 

 

You need to change it back after playing, if you want to take advantage of the new Pro apps from Apple, but it works for now. 

 

The Pro runs the game extremely well and the large screen rocks. 

Congrats on getting your Ipad pro, I've decided to stick with what I have FTM but will probably look into getting one of those down the road for sure.


FIRST TO 200 TANKS ON BLITZ!!!

I'm a gen 1 gamer, been crushing bad guys since the 1970s


Knight44 #4 Posted 13 November 2015 - 02:42 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Players
  • 11110 battles
  • 230
  • [GZR]
  • Member since:
    10-25-2011
Good to know, might check out at Apple Store today. How is the weight and ease of holding in your lap while playing? A lot heavier than the Air 2?

sheriffsherman #5 Posted 13 November 2015 - 02:48 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Players
  • 24534 battles
  • 4,674
  • Member since:
    10-06-2014

View PostKnight44, on 13 November 2015 - 06:42 AM, said:

Good to know, might check out at Apple Store today. How is the weight and ease of holding in your lap while playing? A lot heavier than the Air 2?

Yes, would like to know too;)


FIRST TO 200 TANKS ON BLITZ!!!

I'm a gen 1 gamer, been crushing bad guys since the 1970s


dont_try_this_at_home #6 Posted 13 November 2015 - 09:52 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 29351 battles
  • 317
  • Member since:
    06-30-2014
Clearly a bump is required. 

Gasho3 #7 Posted 26 November 2015 - 03:33 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 32408 battles
  • 70
  • [RAIDR]
  • Member since:
    10-17-2014

View Postsheriffsherman, on 13 November 2015 - 09:48 AM, said:

Yes, would like to know too;)

 

The weight isn't bad at all, 1.5 # I believe.  Upgraded from iPad Air 2; I've got the smart case from Apple so folded it holds it at the right angle resting on a pillow from my couch.  I also adjusted the camera and stick sensitivity to 150%.  It's pretty great, hopefully WG will fix the issue on the next update.

 

 


frostycan #8 Posted 26 November 2015 - 05:35 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 22860 battles
  • 47
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014

Thanks for posting this.  I just got an iPad Pro and was very disappointed that I couldn't play WOTB on it until I Googled and found this thread.


The weight and size is good for me, but I'm 6' 3" so I have large hands.  I suspect that anyone with small hands will find an iPad Pro awkward.

 

Anyone else having a problem with no audio when playing WOTB?  Every other app plays audio with no problem but WOT does not.  I've trying flipping the "HD Sound" option and the volume control within the game but everything is muted.  Ideas?
 



frostycan #9 Posted 27 November 2015 - 04:31 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 22860 battles
  • 47
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014
Never mind.  I figured out that my iPad was muted.  That wasn't obvious because music and other sounds were playing.  I'm used to a physical mute switch on my old iPad 3!

Senator_Ratbat #10 Posted 27 November 2015 - 05:07 AM

    Producer

  • Administrator
  • 5865 battles
  • 1,395
  • [WGA]
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014
We're aware of the issue and hopefully a native fix is coming soon. I play on the iPad Pro as well so i feel your pain. 

Gasho3 #11 Posted 27 November 2015 - 06:55 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 32408 battles
  • 70
  • [RAIDR]
  • Member since:
    10-17-2014

View PostSenator_Ratbat, on 27 November 2015 - 12:07 AM, said:

We're aware of the issue and hopefully a native fix is coming soon. I play on the iPad Pro as well so i feel your pain. 

 

Thanks for the update.:)

 

 


MSixteen #12 Posted 27 November 2015 - 07:31 AM

    Full Auto Spud Gun

  • Players
  • 18402 battles
  • 5,510
  • [_V_]
  • Member since:
    11-15-2012
how much does the iPad Pro cost?

"I'm not a sore loser, l just prefer to win and when I don't I get furious." ~ Ron Swanson

"If you can't figure out how to win in tier 8 against a tier 10, you're not going to be winning in tier 10" ~ PC9684

 Click here for The Art of Blitz Click here for my YouTube channel!

May my M60 and BOUGHT IS-6 Fearless forever give me bountiful harvests of whiners' salt


acrisis #13 Posted 27 November 2015 - 12:41 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Players
  • 20500 battles
  • 11,110
  • [III]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014
$799 wo tax for the 32gig, wihout keyboard or pencil 

 

Forum essentials:  > Desktop mode 
Check recent threads. Check WG staff threads. Use search.
    > WG Bugs and current update     > Feedback     > Vehicle Bay     > Guides     > Videos 

 

     BE  (+)   

    Got lag issues ?  >> Pingplotter thread  << 
Blitz Community Coalition | Looney Tooners | Triarii | Blitz University | Basic Training  | Mentor
 


frostycan #14 Posted 27 November 2015 - 05:09 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 22860 battles
  • 47
  • [-CFR-]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014
It's expensive.  Although I bought one (mostly for the work that I do), I'm not convinced that it's worth it.  Yet.

LoweExpectations #15 Posted 27 November 2015 - 10:14 PM

    Icelandic

  • Players
  • 14905 battles
  • 3,376
  • Member since:
    08-05-2015
Android guy too, but good job on finding it out. 

 

 

Honors: Most Mentally Insane Leopard PTA Driver, Pioneer of the Dracuyolo, Guides.


Gasho3 #16 Posted 09 December 2015 - 01:38 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 32408 battles
  • 70
  • [RAIDR]
  • Member since:
    10-17-2014

View PostSenator_Ratbat, on 27 November 2015 - 12:07 AM, said:

We're aware of the issue and hopefully a native fix is coming soon. I play on the iPad Pro as well so i feel your pain. 

 

the zoom issue now is fixed, thanks!  New problem now though, the camera/joystick sensitivity even set at 150% is painfully slow to look around, almost unplayable.  Could this be tuned please?  

 

 


Poop_of_DEATH #17 Posted 09 December 2015 - 03:05 AM

    The Jalapeño was too spicy

  • Players
  • 29116 battles
  • 117
  • [COD]
  • Member since:
    05-23-2014

View PostGasho3, on 08 December 2015 - 05:38 PM, said:

 

the zoom issue now is fixed, thanks!  New problem now though, the camera/joystick sensitivity even set at 150% is painfully slow to look around, almost unplayable.  Could this be tuned please?  

 

No no- not almost unplayable....COMPLETELY UNPLAYABLE! Sad poop is sad.....

 

-PoD

 



Gasho3 #18 Posted 09 December 2015 - 11:51 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 32408 battles
  • 70
  • [RAIDR]
  • Member since:
    10-17-2014

View PostPoop_of_DEATH, on 08 December 2015 - 10:05 PM, said:

 

No no- not almost unplayable....COMPLETELY UNPLAYABLE! Sad poop is sad.....

 

-PoD

 

Sadly enough after trying to play some more I have to agree.  The secondary look (that doesn't move the turret) responds nicely, the joystick and camera though are really bad.


 

 


MarBearCat #19 Posted 09 December 2015 - 12:11 PM

    Pennsylvania's Favorite Cat!

  • Players
  • 22386 battles
  • 11,630
  • [SDWA]
  • Member since:
    11-13-2015
Update stinks in my opinion

 

 

Heavy Is The Cat That's Carried!


Lephturn #20 Posted 09 December 2015 - 01:59 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Club Wargaming
  • 22174 battles
  • 3,647
  • [III-S]
  • Member since:
    07-28-2014

Darn - waiting until this works right to get a new iPad pro.

 

Have you guys tried both cranking the sensitivity of the controls (I think you have) AND shrinking the controls as much as possible?

 

Just curious.

 

Does the zoom trick still allow you to run it well, or did the update break that as a work around?


Lephturn Triarii Signature Media Producer

Host of the World of Tanks Blitz podcast TANK BOOM!

 

Search for "tank boom" on iTunes, Stitcher, SoundCloud or your podcast player of choice!

Android user? Get the Tank Boom! App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tank.boom





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users