Jump to content


Gunlaying drive BROKEN

Enhanced gun laying drive broken aim time Equipment

  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

Mouthcrunch #21 Posted 03 November 2016 - 05:56 AM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 22855 battles
  • 321
  • [MFW]
  • Member since:
    04-26-2015
Has it always been like this!?

VonMiller58 #22 Posted 03 November 2016 - 03:19 PM

    Chicken Farmer

  • Players
  • 32260 battles
  • 4,065
  • [JFGF]
  • Member since:
    04-17-2016

    O          O

 

           <

 

?????????????


o...:...:I:...:...o

    ..58..58..


outersketcher #23 Posted 03 November 2016 - 03:50 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Players
  • 12738 battles
  • 3,045
  • [COD-R]
  • Member since:
    02-25-2016

I knew that the gld only worked when the tank was stationary. And since I'm usually in motion. I habitually would choose the rammer over the gld.

After seeing this. I think I'll actively avoid the gld.


I try to follow the wise teachings of Mr Miyagi.  "Best defense, no be there."

...don't get hit... don't get hit... don't get hit... OWWW you %$#$!... don't get hit... don't get hit... don't get hit...


reluctanttheist #24 Posted 03 November 2016 - 04:25 PM

    Canuck Didactics

  • Players
  • 25678 battles
  • 6,138
  • [III-H]
  • Member since:
    01-12-2015
WG states that the bug will be fixed in 3.3.1.  I'm guessing something like this can be fixed server-side since aiming is done at the server, not at the client.

Tanks:  _X: T110E5, T110E3, FV215b(183), IS-7, Obj.140  _IX: M103, T-54  _VIII: IS-6, T34, Lowe, T-44, IS-6, IS-3D  _VII: T-43, Comet, E25, AT-15A, SU-122-44
Usually on in the evenings Pacific time.  Intake Contact for Triarii Clan (PM for details)
Be a better player  |  Click here if you have lag  |  Graphics Settings for iOS  |  Check your ping with Pingplotter  |  Get good: watch Bushka!  |  Check out tanks on Tank Compare  and  BlitzHangar


hson_hson #25 Posted 03 November 2016 - 04:32 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 1092 battles
  • 320
  • [EUREF]
  • Member since:
    11-01-2014

View Postreluctanttheist, on 03 November 2016 - 05:25 PM, said:

WG states that the bug will be fixed in 3.3.1.  I'm guessing something like this can be fixed server-side since aiming is done at the server, not at the client.

 

I'm not so sure.

Yes the final calculations are made server-side in order to calculate the shell trajectory but I wouldn't bet on the bloom being sent from server to client constantly.

I would guess that the client calculate the bloom based on the data stored in the client (base dispersion, dispersion on the move and so on) and use that when drawing the bloom.

But I could be wrong...


Spy from EU server, member of clan Valiant


reluctanttheist #26 Posted 03 November 2016 - 06:31 PM

    Canuck Didactics

  • Players
  • 25678 battles
  • 6,138
  • [III-H]
  • Member since:
    01-12-2015

View Posthson_hson, on 03 November 2016 - 08:32 AM, said:

I'm not so sure.

Yes the final calculations are made server-side in order to calculate the shell trajectory but I wouldn't bet on the bloom being sent from server to client constantly.

I would guess that the client calculate the bloom based on the data stored in the client (base dispersion, dispersion on the move and so on) and use that when drawing the bloom.

But I could be wrong...

 

Perhaps the server can send corrected values to the client for bloom reduction?  The whole server-client interaction in this game is a huge component of its design - and its success.


Tanks:  _X: T110E5, T110E3, FV215b(183), IS-7, Obj.140  _IX: M103, T-54  _VIII: IS-6, T34, Lowe, T-44, IS-6, IS-3D  _VII: T-43, Comet, E25, AT-15A, SU-122-44
Usually on in the evenings Pacific time.  Intake Contact for Triarii Clan (PM for details)
Be a better player  |  Click here if you have lag  |  Graphics Settings for iOS  |  Check your ping with Pingplotter  |  Get good: watch Bushka!  |  Check out tanks on Tank Compare  and  BlitzHangar


hson_hson #27 Posted 03 November 2016 - 07:49 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 1092 battles
  • 320
  • [EUREF]
  • Member since:
    11-01-2014

View Postreluctanttheist, on 03 November 2016 - 07:31 PM, said:

 

Perhaps the server can send corrected values to the client for bloom reduction?  The whole server-client interaction in this game is a huge component of its design - and its success.

 

It could be done that way, but I can't see any real reason to do it, it would just cause some overhead. 

The bloom indicator is just a visual aid for the player...


Spy from EU server, member of clan Valiant


Player_5773117413 #28 Posted 03 November 2016 - 08:20 PM

    Professional Tinfoil Hatter

  • Players
  • 29971 battles
  • 8,992
  • [SPUD]
  • Member since:
    07-16-2014

View PostMouthcrunch, on 02 November 2016 - 11:56 PM, said:

Has it always been like this!?

 

I feel like it's been an unspoken issue, or at least it simply wasn't realized, since before this update


"HULK SMASH[er]!!!"

^ Gotta derp around in Tier 7 before the inevitable nerf! ^

Just another demo account, nothing to see here

"Say what you like, but stop pissing on my back and telling me it's raining." Blartch


_Diesel_41_ #29 Posted 04 November 2016 - 02:17 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Players
  • 34495 battles
  • 80
  • [III-C]
  • Member since:
    10-24-2014

Thanks RA. Proof is in the video.

The bloom jndicator is also directly tied to the aim time. 

When you add V-Stab, it makes the bloom smaller initialy from the get go, hence the aim time is shorter regardless if in motion or not.

when you add GLD, it makes the bloom time (from largest size to smallest size), shorter. ONLY if tank is completely motionless


Edited by _Diesel_41_, 04 November 2016 - 02:23 AM.

 


SigDocBon #30 Posted 04 November 2016 - 05:38 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Players
  • 23289 battles
  • 111
  • [10PTS]
  • Member since:
    06-13-2011
I dumped all my GLDs and camo last night. Over a million credits in refunds, lol

SchnauzerKampfwagenIV #31 Posted 05 November 2016 - 07:37 PM

    If injured in battle please call Dr. S. Paul Abpraller III DVM E

  • Players
  • 37322 battles
  • 2,068
  • [ISSAH]
  • Member since:
    05-08-2015
This maybe off topic but the shell reload on my M2 autogun has gotten way longer since yesterday. I mounted the derp and will check egld now bc that bloom is crazy. There are some bugs in this ud.

Zip_Zip #32 Posted 05 November 2016 - 10:46 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Players
  • 43136 battles
  • 2,893
  • [SPUDX]
  • Member since:
    03-07-2015

Just ran some tests. Its very difficult to tell and time. Does GLD kick in when the tank stops accelerating or turret stops actually moving or when the control input stops. Many tanks have momentum and don't stop imidiately including turret. Remember the camera is instant but the turret takes time to move and line up with the camera and the camera can also move with tank movement.

 

GLD kicks in when tank and turret stop moving. A turretless TD should be the best means of gauging the aim time decrease by parking the tank and just traversingthe gun. Even then its the gun dispersion value and not the fully bloomed aim from hull movement. 

 

May try again after super with a TD to see if I come up with a different conclusion.

 

My current conclusion is nil. Needs more testing and more reliable means of timing. I'll check the reload time with and without on my is2 as well. 

 

To be updated....

 

Edit: UPDATE

 

So here was my method.

First I tried with non turret td's but again could draw no clear conlusion.
Next I went to a TD with bad dispersion and a turret. The FV183. 
I traversed the turret in sniper mode. When the green circle of the gun reached the center of the arrow in the aiming reticle I started a stopwatch.

 

I did this 11 times with a GLD and 11 times without. Simply timing how long it took to get the aimed in sound after the green circle reached the aiming reticle. I found what I feel are conclusive results. As well as some interesting notes.

 

Times with GLD:
2.97, 2.87, 2.97, 3.06, 3.03, 3.0, 2.97, 2.88, 3.19, 2.94, 3.0 avg = 3.03 sec

Times without GLD (vents in place)*:
3.38, 3.25, 3.25, 3.25, 3.28, 3.25, 3.25, 3.28, 3.34, 3.34, 3.35 avg = 3.29 sec

 

*vents will have an effect on aim time as well but only around 2.5% based in a calc I did somewhere else on the forum many moons ago.

 

Conclusion: GLD (at least on the FV183 is having a clear effect when traversing the turret. In the amount we could expect if the GLD was properly working. 

 

Important notes:
The base aim time on the gun is listed as 3 sec and some of my results put the times above 3 sec and around 3 sec.

We should expect the aim time to be 3 sec and GLD to make it 2.7 sec. Why is this not the case. 


1. My reaction times may account for the difference but since my reaction time is there on both counts and I've taken a decent sample though we don't have an actual accurate aim time we can see that the GLD is in fact having an effect.
2. RNG may be to blame. The could be some RNG involved in these times as well. Again with the sample size RNG if affecting aim time would be averaged over both samples. It could very well be that the posted aim times in a tanks stats are an average aim time and not an absolute one!

 

Interesting note: 
When traversing the gun (hull stationary) when I got close to, but still about an inch away (iPad 9.7" screen) from the edge of the turret traverse range I noticed something interesting. When making large traverses the line indicating max traverse was vibrating, indicating that with larger more rapid movements on the gun there would be a vibration that would actually give longer aim times than if the movements were kept smaller. I used only smaller movements for my testing but I did find it interesting that the game physics are so intricate.

 

Edit 2: Another conclusion is that the GLD seems to be of minor value even if it does work. 

 


Edited by Zip_Zip, 06 November 2016 - 12:51 AM.

Always remember, wherever you go, there you are...

164 tanks mastered // Have tanks, will battle // Click here for my youtube channel 

 


reluctanttheist #33 Posted 06 November 2016 - 07:52 AM

    Canuck Didactics

  • Players
  • 25678 battles
  • 6,138
  • [III-H]
  • Member since:
    01-12-2015

GLD has been fixed in 3.3.1

 


Tanks:  _X: T110E5, T110E3, FV215b(183), IS-7, Obj.140  _IX: M103, T-54  _VIII: IS-6, T34, Lowe, T-44, IS-6, IS-3D  _VII: T-43, Comet, E25, AT-15A, SU-122-44
Usually on in the evenings Pacific time.  Intake Contact for Triarii Clan (PM for details)
Be a better player  |  Click here if you have lag  |  Graphics Settings for iOS  |  Check your ping with Pingplotter  |  Get good: watch Bushka!  |  Check out tanks on Tank Compare  and  BlitzHangar


Zip_Zip #34 Posted 06 November 2016 - 04:12 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Players
  • 43136 battles
  • 2,893
  • [SPUDX]
  • Member since:
    03-07-2015

View Postreluctanttheist, on 06 November 2016 - 02:52 AM, said:

GLD has been fixed in 3.3.1

 

 

I just checked. I have 3.3.1 installed. Blitz must have auto updated itself without my being aware, that's why it was working on my FV! 

Duh, didn't even think to check.


Always remember, wherever you go, there you are...

164 tanks mastered // Have tanks, will battle // Click here for my youtube channel 

 


Parrott_Cannon #35 Posted 06 November 2016 - 05:07 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Players
  • 47877 battles
  • 131
  • [DEF_V]
  • Member since:
    12-27-2014

View PostZip_Zip, on 06 November 2016 - 12:12 PM, said:

 

I just checked. I have 3.3.1 installed. Blitz must have auto updated itself without my being aware, that's why it was working on my FV! 

Duh, didn't even think to check.

 

Yep, also was mentioned that with GLD equipped, there was a decrease in reload time. Which is not a value that should have been happening at all. 

_WMX_ #36 Posted 07 November 2016 - 09:58 AM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 54057 battles
  • 316
  • [DD]
  • Member since:
    12-13-2014

View PostKanuuan, on 06 November 2016 - 09:07 AM, said:

 

Yep, also was mentioned that with GLD equipped, there was a decrease in reload time. Which is not a value that should have been happening at all. 

 

Man I needed all the help I could get!!!  xD

Edited by _WMX_, 07 November 2016 - 09:58 AM.

_WMX_

Clan of DD Teufel Hunden

Enforcer

 


Cybergyn #37 Posted 09 November 2016 - 12:19 AM

    Private

  • Players
  • 11034 battles
  • 1
  • [DOGZ]
  • Member since:
    05-02-2011
Was this bug just on ios and android or was it a windows 10 bug also?  I can't find a 3.31 for windows 10

dayton07277 #38 Posted 09 November 2016 - 01:11 AM

    (SMH)

  • Players
  • 26698 battles
  • 4,152
  • [CROWN]
  • Member since:
    09-13-2015
The battle count is still messed up.!

Tuberculosis_Victim #39 Posted 10 November 2016 - 07:11 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 6562 battles
  • 269
  • [_TT_]
  • Member since:
    12-13-2014

View Postreluctanttheist, on 06 November 2016 - 02:52 AM, said:

GLD has been fixed in 3.3.1

 

 

Thank you for posting video evidence!! I'm glad it got fixed... who knows how long it has been broken.  I'm wondering if they would have even known something was wrong if I or someone else like me hadn't noticed it?

Edited by Tuberculosis_Victim, 10 November 2016 - 07:20 PM.


Tuberculosis_Victim #40 Posted 10 November 2016 - 07:13 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 6562 battles
  • 269
  • [_TT_]
  • Member since:
    12-13-2014

View PostCybergyn, on 08 November 2016 - 07:19 PM, said:

Was this bug just on ios and android or was it a windows 10 bug also?  I can't find a 3.31 for windows 10

 

Im on iPhone 6 Plus, but I'm assuming it was like that for all blitz platforms.  Like I said, that's an assumption.

Edited by Tuberculosis_Victim, 10 November 2016 - 07:14 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users